Skip to content

As the wedding draws near/How to maintain your sanity

August 11, 2011

First of all, a disclaimer. I’m writing with only 15 days until my wedding so if I do end up losing it in that time, I promise to renege all the advice I hereto impart you. Alright, moving on. It’s only normal to feel stressed within weeks of the wedding. It’s n-o-r-m-a-l. It’s a BIG day, one you’ve been planning for months {if not years!}, full of expectations and hopes and dreams. So my first piece of advice would be to allow yourself to feel stressed. Don’t try to deny it, ignore it, or push it under the surface. If you need to scream into a pillow, or take a nap, or get a manicure–DO IT. And don’t feel bad about it.

All that matters via Style Me Pretty

Here are some additional tips for maintaining your sanity–tried and tested by yours truly.

  • Celebrate the milestones on the way to the Big Day. My fiance and I went yesterday to purchase our marriage license and then had dinner at our favorite restaurant to celebrate. These moments are just as important and memorable.
  • Allow yourself  a day, or at least half a day, to relax. And by relax I mean take a break from thinking about the wedding.
  • Sort out all your bills for the month and PAY them {or schedule them to be paid}. One less thing you have to worry about.
  • Dream about the honeymoon–if you’re able to take one {which I hope you are!}. Seriously, when I’m feeling overwhelmed I think about lying on the beach in Barbados and I feel so. much. better.
  • Laugh. A lot. Or, you know, drink some wine.
  • Grab some alone time with your honey. Next Wednesday my mom gets here for 10 days. The week of the wedding I have bridesmaids arriving into town every day. Alone time will be, well, limited. So we’re grabbing all we can before then.
  • Pause and think about it all. You’re getting married. What does it feel like? What are you most excited about? What makes you nervous? What do you hope to remember about the day? Don’t let all the hustle and bustle get in the way of the significance of this time. Promise?
    After it’s all said & done via Grey Likes Weddings

And let’s not forget the old staple: Take it one day at a time. Each day attempt to accomplish one or two tasks. Don’t think too far ahead and worry about EVERYTHING that has to get done. One day at a time. ONE DAY. Hey, maybe I should write that on a post-it and put it on my nightstand…

xo-Kristine

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 12, 2011 12:50 am

    Just wanted to say HI. I found your blog a few days ago on Technorati and have been reading it over the past few days.

Leave a Reply

